Allan Zavod's Classical / Jazz Fusion Performers Award - In conjunction with Monash University

home >> zavod classical-jazz fusion awards >> PERFORMERS AWARD

classical-jazz Fusion AwardsPERFORMANCE AWARD

Note: The following information is placed here for your convenience. It may not be totally up to date. Please visit the Monash University's Website for the most current information.

The Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance is pleased to continue the Allan Zavod Performers' Award in 2022 for an outstanding performance of an original composition that fuses classical and improvisatory performance and compositional elements. The work must be composed by the performer. A cash prize of $5000 will be awarded to the musician who demonstrates considerable skill performing in both the classical style as well as a style of music that embodies improvisation in its practice. A runner-up will receive a cash prize of $1000.

Entry and judging criteria

This prestigious award is open to all tertiary music students enrolled in an Australian University who have been a resident in Australia for a minimum of two years at the closing date. Applicants may present solo works or perform with up to four (4) additional artists. The performer-composer should demonstrate elements of classical performance as well as performance in a style of music that embodies improvisation (eg. jazz, world music or contemporary art music). The maximum performance time is 15 mins.

Three finalists will perform as part of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Lunchtime Concert Series, on Thursday 15th September 2022. A winner and runner-up will be announced at the end of the event. The judging panel will consist of Dr Iran Sanadzadeh, Dr Paul Williamson and Zac Zavod. The decision of the judges is final, and the panel reserves the right not to award the prize(s).

Submission requirements

Applicants are invited to submit:

  1. Score of the original work (.pdf)
  2. Audio realisation of the submitted work
  3. A short program note describing the work
  4. Supporting links (eg. website, YouTube, examples of past work)

Submission deadline

Applications are now due Friday, 2 September. Finalists will be notified by Thursday, 8 September.


Access the application form via this link.


The Allan Zavod Performers' Award was created by Dr Allan Zavod and is generously supported by Mr Noel O'Brien and Mr Brendan O'Brien. We would also like to thank Christine Zavod for her ongoing support and generosity in the provision of this prestigious award.

If you have questions about this award, please contact Johannes Luebbers:

classical-jazz Fusion AwardsPREVIOUS WINNERS

2014 -

2013 -

2012 -

2011 -

2010 - Michael Knopf (PhD student)   YouTube clip   * also won Zavod's 2011 Composer award

[ Home | About Allan | Competition Awards | Zav Shop | Multimedia | In Print | Photos | Links | Contact | Site Map ]